Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default MEDFORD OR to OGDEN UT Help in route planning

I am driving from Medford Oregon to Ogden Utah the end of this January and need some help planning a route. I moved to Oregon from Arizona a few months ago and now my job is taking me to Ogden.

I have very little winter driving experience (lived in AZ most of my life) and would like to take a route that would expose me to a minimum amount of snowy and icy driving conditions. Time is not a big factor and whether or not the trip takes one day or two is no issue.

Any help that I can get in planning a route would be greatly appreciated. I will be driving a 2000 Toyota Sienna van fully loaded with furniture and belongings. I have standard highway tires and no chains.

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

First of all, you need to understand this is at minimum a 2 day drive. At nearly 800 miles, that's just too far for one day, even if you have good weather, if you see bad weather, having a 3rd day available would be helpful.

Second, I'm not sure what "standard highway tires" means. While you don't necessarily need snow tires, I'd make sure they are at least All-Season tires in good condition. Summer tires would be very bad in even minor winter weather.

For routes, you've got 2 options that are pretty similar in distance. One would use OR-140/US-95 to Winnemucca, NV and then take I-80 from there. The other would be to head up to Bend, then use US-20 across to I-84.

There is no way to say at this time which route would have better weather. You're going to have to take a look at the forecasts just before you depart, and decide which looks like a better choice based on the days you'll be traveling.

3. Default