1. Default SF to Denver Solo Road trip

Hello All,

I'll be in the Bay Area for Christmas and was planning a solo road trip from San Francisco to Denver - starting from SF on 28th Dec and reaching Denver on 30th Dec. I then plan to fly out from Denver to Chicago (Home!!) on the 1st. Ideally, I would like to drive a max. of 8 hours each day and spend a night in between (Salt Lake City? Moab?). I have experience driving with snow, but the main intention of the road trip is for it to be a scenic pleasant drive, some of which is through the mountains preferably. I don't mind snow as long as it's not falling while I'm driving, and as long as the roads are clear. As far as experience, the longest I have driven in one go was 9 Hrs, and I have some experience with mountains - having driven on treacherous Himalayan roads.

That said, nothing is confirmed yet and I have very limited time to do my research (specially with so many resources on the internet) ,so I'm glad I came across this wonderful website and now seek the advice of experienced road-trippers! (:

I'll split my question in two parts:

Assuming I go ahead with the SF to Denver trip:

• What is the best route to take - based on scenery and traffic - I-80 all the way? or I-15 and then I-70? (This way I can see the Hoover Dam too, and this is my first choice as of now, specially after coming across pics of the Utah landscape in the winter) . If I take the latter route, I do have the option to spend a night in LA at my cousin's place . However, on a recent and similar post , I read that I-70 should be avoided. My main intention is for it to be a scenic drive without much traffic. Thoughts?
    • What is a good city/town where I can potentially stop and rest for the night? Salt Lake City & Moab and/or Zion come to mind.
    • Last but not the least, what attractions, hikes, short stops are recommended for both, on the way - and after I reach Denver (I'll only have a day over there from the looks of it)?