1. Default Mid January driving Long island ny to Gilbert az

I am driving my Kia Forte koup from long island to gilbert az starting in mid January. Me and my partner have only done 8 hour driving trips to Cali, nothing like this but we are ready to take it on. In my opinion, I think it would be smartest to drive the southern most route to avoid any real chance of blizzards and other winter weather. Even though we are leaving from NY I have no real experience driving in snow, and I don't think my two door is really equipped for it either. My father told me he drove from LA to NY passing through Phoenix, Georgia and up the east coast but I cannot seem to find any websites with this route. I guess I am just posting for any advise since neither of us have done this before. Thank you in advance.

Tucson, AZ

Default Keep Your Options Open

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

The best 'rules' about winter driving have almost nothing to do with "driv[ing] the southern most route" simply because taking such a route does not, and cannot, "avoid any real chance of blizzards and other winter weather." I-40, even I-10, can and do see snow and ice almost every winter and when they do the local road crews and drivers are less prepared to handle them resulting in more, not less, hazardous conditions. Your best defense against driving in winter weather that you're uncomfortable with is twofold. First be prepared to alter your plans, even at the last minute, to take into account the actual weather conditions that are in effect when you're driving. This may mean going south, but it may also mean going farther north than you planned in order to go around a particular weather front or storm. Second, schedule at least a day more than you think you'll need for the drive so that should you run into untoward weather you can just stay holed up in a nice warm motel, let the storm blow over, and resume driving once the roads have been cleared and the sun is back out.