1. Default Winter Road Trip Ideas

Hey, I'm new to the whole road trip thing and am looking where to start. I've recently come into a lot of spare time and am looking to fulfill a life long dream of driving around the united states. I should be able to start in January and am looking to do it as cheaply (and as warmly as possible) but I honestly have no idea where to start for this. I want to focus on national parks and camping and again do it all as cheaply as possible. If any one has any advice on how to start that would be amazing.

Tucson, AZ

Default That All Depends...

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

For starters, at an absolute minimum, we'd need to know where you're starting out from and how much time you have before we could offer any advice on where to go. t would also help to know what your interests are, whether you have any experience with driving in winter conditions.

3. Default

Of course. I'd be starting out in Boston and have a lot of experience with winter driving. I mostly am interested in seeing national parks and camping.

Southern California

Welcome to RTA!

A couple of things jump out at me: first, camping in the winter often means cold temperatures - even in the desert southwest. At the very least you'd need a 4-season sleeping bag and a decent tent - not something that you might use during the summer months and then toss away.

While most national parks are technically open 365/7/24, that does not mean all of their facilities are open all year. For instance, Yellowstone is open but only one campground (Mammoth) is open year-round, only some of their roads are open, and the main attractions, like Grand Canyon of the Yellowstone and Old Faithful, are not accessible. Only a few services in Mammoth are open.