Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Austin to Denver: Christmas 2015

Hey all,

Newbie here. We're planning on road tripping from Austin to Denver via the straightest shot possible.

The War Rig:
    2010 Kia Sedona "Black Gold" to me. "Buddy" to the kids.

Planned Accessories/Additions:
    Hitch Receiver (The cheapest that will hold a cargo platform)
    Cargo Platform Carrier
    Full size spare on the roof
    CB Radio

Looking to log the preparation and journey as well as get any input y'all would like to offer.

Green County, Wisconsin

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

What is the reason that you think you need lots of extra cargo space/how much extra stuff are you planning to bring?

I would be cautious when you start adding a lot of extra cargo carrying items, as they can really start to throw off the balance of the vehicle, and have a major impact on how it handles. The hitch-cargo platforms aren't designed to hold very much weight - keep in mind, when you're actually pulling a trailer, a well balanced trailer doesn't actually put much weight at all on the hitch. Putting items on the roof can be just as bad - perhaps even worse. Heavy items are going to change the aerodynamics, impacting things like gas mileage, but more importantly, it shifts the center of gravity. That's especially important in an SUV that already has a high center of gravity to begin with. Lots of weight on the roof could make the vehicle unstable, especially on curves.

If you are sticking to the highways, a full sized spare tire isn't really a necessity - as long as you have a donut, you'll never be so far away from services that you can't get back on the road relatively quickly. If you want one anyway, you might look to see if you can find a way to fit a full size spare in the area where the donut sits.

South of England.

Default Overnight stop.