1. Default 6 Nights - LA Roadtrip

Hello to everyone,

This is my first time in California. My girlfriend and I are planning to go on a road trip to explore your amazing State in the coming week.

We will start from Los Angeles at midday 17th September and must be back at Los Angeles International airport at 10am on 23rd September.

We are hoping this kind forum could map out a great road trip schedule for us.

17th - 22nd (including the night) September

Things we would like to do (we are aware that we can't do everything but here are some key aspect we hope to include):
    Hot Springs
    - we have been told to see Big Sur, Sequoia (apparently there are fires), and Yosemite. But are open to suggestions.

We would require lodging too so if you could suggest where to stay along the way that would be immensely helpful.

With all best wishes,

That is a ton of ground to cover in a very short time!

For some nature, forests and beautiful coastlines, an option would be to drive the coastal route north to the Orick, CA (coastal redwoods). That would put Big Sur and big trees in the check-box list (and worthy). Lady Bird Forest is a wonderful area to hike.

From LAX, my route would be to hit the highway to Santa Monica (I-405 N to I-10W) and then take CA-1 (PCH/Coastal Hwy) north to the famed surfing beach in Malibu to stretch your legs and breath some fresh sea air. Continue on CA-1 and it will merge with US-101 in Ventura.

Ventura is a nice town to spend the night or grab a meal depending upon your timing and resting needs.