1. Default Where to tent camp between Carlsbad NM an Austin TX

Newbie here....Heading out on road trip with tent camping in mind. Los Angeles to Savannah. Route takes us from Las Cruces NM overnighting there and then heading towards Austin via Roswell and Carlsbad. I need to find a decent place to camp between Carlsbad and Austin, and probably closer to Carlsbad, given that we will have spent the better part of the day in New Mexico.

Anyone have suggestions? Or would we be better off finding a hotel? If so, where would be a good place, town-wise?

Welcome to RTA!

Your best bet for finding lodging is Pecos or Fort Stockton, they both have a decent selection of hotels. To find camping, a web search may find something near those 2 cities but I doubt it would be comfortable this time of year and they will primarily be RV parks.

Just doing a quick look, I'd probably start by taking a look at Monahans Sandhills State Park, which seems to be right in line with what you'd be looking for and has 26 campsites. Balmorhea State Park could be another option.

There are a few others in the general area, but not quite as close to the direct route to Austin. I was also only looking at state parks, which is where I typically start when I'm looking for tent camping options. If you dig a bit more deeply, you could probably find other options too.

4. Default

Hi, thank you so much for the recommendations. And such a quick response too! I haven't found much other than RV parks, but will check out Monahans.

The closest campsites to the Caverns NP is in the townsite of Carlsbad. The three seem to cater to the RV traveler. There is Brantley Lake State Park which is just northwest of Carlsbad the town and has good ratings with TripAdvisor, though I have never stayed there.

Checking Van Horn and Fort Stockton, those have RV parks, but they aren't really set up for tent campers. Balmorhea SP, between the two, looks like it has decent ratings too.