Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Upstate NY to Orlando Road Trip- Husband & Three Teenage Daughters

Hi all! I'm technically new to the forum, however I've been lurking for a while now. I just wanted to see if I could get some advice from my fellow travelers. This August, my husband and I plan on taking our daughters on a trip to Florida. Their ages are 13, 15, and 21 (special needs). Our oldest is obsessed with everything Disney, so we thought Orlando would be the perfect place.

I'm a veteran road trip girl. I've driven from NY to Orlando, NY to Dallas, etc countless times. However, this was always just myself and friend, not three teenagers in the back. I took a look at airline prices plus car rental prices, and I can't imagine paying so much for a trip that we could easily drive. Plus, we have family in NC and SC that we'd like to stop and see along the way.

So here's my question- we broke the trip down and back into three days. The reason for this is that I was recently in an accident and am not sure how much driving I'll feel well enough to do. So my hubby may have to take on most of the driving. Also, my step kids have never been on a car ride longer than 6 hours. Does this seem attainable? Our plan for getting there is below and we plan on doing the same thing coming back.

Day 1

10 am- leave NY

8 pm - arrive in Fredericksburg, VA

Day 2

11am- leave Fredericksburg,VA

8pm- arrive in Manning, SC

Day 3

11am- leave Manning, SC

6pm- Arrive in Orlando, FL

Thanks so much and Happy 4th of July!

Welcome to RTA!

I can't comment about your first day, because I'm not exactly sure where you're departing from. But Day 2 and Day 3 come in at about 400 miles. That's roughly 7-8 hours in the car, depending on how much you stop for gas, food, and going to the bathroom.