1. Default Need advice on driving trip from Los Angeles, CA to Rochester, MI

Hello all,

I will be going to a graduate school in Michigan this upcoming August. I have never done this before and am pretty stressed out on how to deal with this situation. I have leased a brand new car, so there are no worries on that end. It gets 40-50 mpg as well. Google maps without toll roads state that it is a total of about ~2,200 miles. Idealistically, if I went 80-85 mph for 9 hours a day, I should get there in 3 days. The problem is I don't know where to stop for sleep for the first two nights that will be very affordable. Please point out any flaws I have with this plan. Thank you for your help !

Green County, Wisconsin

Default one more

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

I'm sorry, but you're not going to be able to make this trip in 3 days. You need a minimum of 4 hard days to make the drive safely.

Even if set the Cruise at 80, it doesn't mean you'll actually be driving 80 for every minute of the day. You'll have other traffic, you'll have to slow down for construction, you'll need to stop for fuel, food, restrooms, etc. In the real world, in a speed run type pace, you're doing good to average even 60 mph over a full day on the road - that yes, that is assuming you are driving at or slightly above the speed limit.

That means, over the course of 9-10 hours, you're going to cover about 600 miles. That's also about the limit for what you should be planning to do in a day, and it's in line with what professional drivers are allowed to do in a single day because of safety laws.

I'll also point out that despite what the window sticker may have said, there are very few cars that can actually get 40-50 mpg while driving 80+ mph. Such numbers are typically inflated a bit - as they reflect tests done in "perfect" conditions, and as you increase your speed, especially above about 65, your fuel consumption increases significantly.