Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Solo trip out west from east Tennessee

After reading several threads on various websites, I decided I would be better off seeking guidance for my trip specifically, rather than only reading comments about other similar trips. I graduated college this spring and before I set out into the workforce and start my career I want to enjoy my last summer before the "real word" begins this fall. I will be traveling in my own vehicle (Toyota tacoma) with a camper shell over the bed that has been converted into a living quarters. I have 2 main stops on the itinerary, Yellowstone and Grand Tetons. I initially wanted to hit all the large NP's outwest, but after reading other's experiences I realized that is not an option. The time available for the trip is flexible and I realize its 4000 miles roundtrip to Grand Tetons alone therefore I am cutting out the the idea of Zion, Yosemite, etc. All of the lodging will primarily be in my vehicle eliminating lodging costs. I am looking for any tips/recommendations on the route as well as other attractions on the way or in close proximity. Thanks!

Default Be careful where you sleep in your vehicle.

Hi, and Welcome to the Great American Roadtrip Forum.

Where are you proposing to park while sleeping in your vehicle? Be aware that staying overnight at rest areas is both dangerous, and in most States illegal. The only places you should consider this is at the rest areas where there is night time security.

By far your best spots include State Parks and State Forests as well as National Forests and BLM lands. For a not so much a camping experience truck stops are the only other alternative. Be sure to always ask at the cashier, and park where directed. It is a courtesy to then also give them some of your business: fill your tank, eat in their restaurant, etc.