Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Road trip to west coast

Hi,

I am planning a 15 days trip from Seattle to San Diego. This is my very first time in the country and am doing it all by myself.

Reading what others have posted, I have a general idea on things I should consider seeing and doing during my 15 days. I am planning on spending time in some big cities on the way, what are the cities that are worth staying at and what do you suggest on the duration of stay in each place.
    I still don't know what to do regarding the lodging. When I am in cities I should be able to find hostels, but what to do on the way? Also does it make sense to keep the car all the way, or should I drop the car when I arrive in big cities?

Also is it safe to travel alone?

Thank you!

Default For Your Own Consideration

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

Just a few thoughts on West Coast cities. The ones I have found the most interesting include San Francisco, Monterey, Santa Barbara, and San Diego. With the exception of San Francisco all of them are easily navigated by car and parking is generally reasonably available. In San Francisco, you would probably do better to leave the car outside of town at a large lot near a rail or subway (BART) station, go into the city for as long as you like, then return to the car when you're ready to move on. I have never thoroughly enjoyed any of my many stays in Los Angeles. It's just too spread out, has too many tourists all trying to get to the same attractions, and requires hours of driving just to get around. If there are specific things you want to see, then get to them by all means but L.A. is not, IMHO, a place to relax and explore.