1. Default Dallas, Tx to Banff national park in July

I am a 22 y/o recent college grad looking to plan a road trip from where I live in Dallas all the way to Banff National park in Canada for what may be my last summer vacation ever. My plan is to go from Dallas to Denver, Denver to Grand Teton National Park and then Yellowstone, Yellowstone to Glacier National in Montana and lastly, Glacier National to Banff in Alberta. I have no road trip experience what-so-ever and have never been to any of these parks that I am hoping to visit. I would like to go in mid July and am wondering if anyone here has advice on the following. How long would you recommend I take to complete the trip (4 days? 1 week?)? I will be going alone unfortunately, so is it even worth it? Where can I get the rental car from (again, I'm 22 which I am told may be an issue)? What kind of car should it be (an SUV or van? I want to go from Grand Teton to Yellowstone directly, maybe on the same day if possible). Any other general advice would be much appreciated. I've got no road trip experience at all, have never been to any of the states these parks are in, have actually never driven through a large national park, and know nothing about the driving conditions or weather I'm going to face.

Green County, Wisconsin

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

I suspect you might be biting off a bit more than you can chew, in some ways.

When you're asking how long you need, and you're starting with 4 days or a week, I'm afraid you might be in for a rude awakening here. You need at least 4 days just to drive from Dallas to Banff, before you factor in any extra stops, and that's one way. To visit all the places you want to go, and have time to see anything, and drive home, you're going to need a minimum of 3 to 4 weeks.