Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default suggestions for a long USA trip

Hi all, my name is Randall and I am a newbie. In June 2016 my Bride and our Teen Daughter are taking a year off to see the country. We will be in a 36 foot 5th wheel pulled by a Ram 3500 dually. We want to do things affordably so we will use state parks and national parks and forests as much as we can. Sometimes we will not use electricity or hook ups, most of the time we will. There is a lot to learn.

The biggest thing is didn't want to be rushed so that’s why I thought we would give ourselves the whole year. I would like to see as many National parks and natural wonders as possible and so forth. We will be leaving NC in mid June as school ends. I figured I would go up in the direction of NY first then over towards Yellowstone and end up in the Northwest in the fall. I need to avoid snow so that may mean early fall. I thought I should go down California south so as winter approaches it will be getting warmer temperature wise. Maybe then I am in the southwest as it gets cold elsewhere and down towards the gulf coast in the winter. I would love to see the cranes in Nebraska in March but that’s not near Florida.

I will need to know what kind of membership is best. Someone said Good Sam is great, but I get all kinds of pop ups that all sound great. I need a GPS that will not let me accidently go down a cat path road with a 9 foot bridge. Someone said there is one that trucker’s use that might be good, even though they are over 200 it might be money well spent.

I think I should get where I'm going by interstate then pull into a Wal-Mart. Drop the trailer, then go check out the campground with just the truck, maybe? I would just assume not drive more than 4 hours at a time and arrive in new paces in daylight.