Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Need help planning a round trip NC-West Coast trip

So I'm a college student that has one last summer before heading off into the real world, and a couple buddies and I want to do a cross country road trip. We've done long trips before, including backpacking stretches of the AT, but I've never done a road trip like this. We'll be heading out of the research triangle area of NC (Raleigh/Chapel Hill/Durham area) and hope to spend most of our trip camping, hiking, and exploring nature. Ideally we want to make Mount Rainier, but at the very least we hope to do Yellowstone and Big Sky. We're allocating 3-4 weeks, with probably a $2000 budget. Doable? Tips? Itinerary? Any help is welcome! Thank you

Welcome to RTA!

At first look, I think your budget may be a bit light. What does your vehicle get for gas mileage, what kind of camping equipment do you have, and are you able to prepare your own meals?

3. Default

Quote Originally Posted by glc View Post
    Welcome to RTA!

At first look, I think your budget may be a bit light. What does your vehicle get for gas mileage, what kind of camping equipment do you have, and are you able to prepare your own meals?
    Hey sorry that's $2000 per person, so about 6-8K total depending on if we our 4th guy to join us. My vehicle gets about 24, we'll have a tent and a couple hammocks, and yeah we're going to try to mainly prepare our own meals and treat eating out as a special occurrence.