Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Advice for a first solo road trip.

Hey y'all, well im 19 and i am planning an about 13 hour road trip and around 900 miles from georgia to kansas. Should i cut the trip in half? Travel night or day? Is there a better route to take? I'm a newbie to this since the longest ive driven was 3 hours to South Carolina and im anxious about this trip but it's a must. Any advice would be truly appreciate. Bless y'all!

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

Despite what online map programs might tell you, there is absolutely no way a 900 mile trip will take you 13 hours. You'd have to average 70 mph from door to door, which is just impossible to do in the real world without traveling at an average speed of nearly 100 mph. In the real world, in a best case situation 16 hours would be a bare minimum, and 18+ is much more likely.

Regardless, it's way too much to do in a single day, especially for a solo driver. Even with multiple drivers it would be too much. As a comparison, a professional truck driver is limited to about 600 miles on the road in a day because of safety laws.

So, yes, you need to plan to spend at least one night on the road. You should travel at the times of day when you are normally awake. Unless you're a 3rd shift worker, you shouldn't be trying to drive through the night, but if you're used to sleeping in, there is nothing wrong with getting on the road around noon, and driving past dark - just don't try to push too hard at the end of the day.

Without knowing where in the gigantic targets of "georgia" and "kansas" you're starting/finishing and without knowing what route you're planning, we can't really tell if if there is a better route to take.

Default Don't believe these computer roadtrip times.

Hi, and Welcome to the Great American Roadtrip Forum.