Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Boston to Seattle relocating

Hi,
    I am new to Roadtrip America and fairly new to posting in a forum as well. I am trying to get from Boston to Seattle (Whidbey Island actually) probably around the end of November. I was going to fly but am very reluctant to put my dog in the cargo hold. The last time I did a long road trip was in the early 70's and I hitchhiked (fun) and wish I could do that again. So, I am thinking of getting a new (used) vehicle and driving. I am wondering 2 things. 1. What vehicle would be best? I am carrying my 45# dog and whatever stuff I can cram into the car. I am looking for reliability and good fuel economy. 2. What route would be best? If it was Spring/Summer I would go shortest northern route but I am nervous about that in winter. Time doesn't matter except as far as cost of trip, which does matter. Thank you to all. Hey, anyone looking for a ride to West Coast?

Welcome to RTA!

1. It's hard to define "best" but if you don't already have a car, I'd probably get a small SUV or crossover. Something like a RAV-4, CRV, or Forester would be economical and reliable.

2. The best route is generally the shortest route, regardless of season. In this case, I'd modify it a bit to avoid heavy tolls and be prepared to change in midstream to avoid bad weather and/or be prepared to find a hotel to wait out a storm.

Take the Mass Pike to Sturbridge, then I-84 to Scranton PA. Then take I-81 to I-80 to I-76 to I-71 to Columbus OH. Take I-70 to Indy, then I-74 to I-80 to I-680 to I-29 to Sioux Falls. Then take I-90 on in to Seattle.

This is going to be a 6 day drive at a minimum, driving basically all day - 10 to 12 hours a day including fuel, rest, and lunch stops.

Your overnight stops going this way would be around:

Brookville PA
    Champaign IL
    Sioux City IA
    Gillette WY
    Missoula MT