1. Default Maxima through Applachian / New England

Hello, I'm a college student planning a long drive to go and see an old friend who now currently resides near Wilmington, DE. I still live in Nashville TN, so the drive to see him is a little long. The only break we both have is winter break, and I was looking for any advice or thoughts on driving a 2008 Nissan Maxima through the mountains / cities. It's not so much a luxury trip, haha, as I'd prefer to get there within a day's drive. I've had family members tell me that the mountains will be rough to drive through, and as I planned on taking this trip through I-81 mostly in the middle of December, I was wondering how difficult it would be for my car. Any advice for planning the trip would be greatly appreciated.

Welcome to RTA!

You should have no problem on Interstate highways in a Maxima as long as you have a decent set of all-season tires on it. However, Nashville to Wilmington is almost 800 miles and CANNOT safely be driven in one day. If you leave in the morning, you should plan to stop for the night around Staunton, VA. If you leave around noon, you should plan on stopping for the night around Bristol, TN/VA.

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

I have to agree with GLC, the distance is a much bigger safety concern than the route or the weather at this point. In the real world, not a computer map generated one, this is a trip that will take about 15 hours in good conditions - it will take longer if you do see some winter weather and/or run into significant traffic delays around Washington/Baltimore. That's more than professional drivers are allowed to do by law, because of safety concerns.