Default Chicago to Phillidelpia (via lakes and niagara)

Hi,

About 2 years ago members of this site were extremely helpful for my planning of a trip from Washington to South Carolina and many stop overs on route. Only problem then was a hurrican.

My wife and I (no kids) have now booked a flight to Chicago from UK and back on 23rd May from Phillidelpia.

We will hire a car with a one-way option.

We know Chicago and will stay there for a couple of days. We would then like to drive around the coast of Lake Michingan and Lake Huron, maybe then perhaps to Toronto, definately Niagara Falls. After that I hope a leisurely trip to Philly to arrive 21/5 to visit friends before flying back to the UK.

We can dip into and out of Canada as need be.

Our only "must" is Niagara Falls anything else is subject to your advice. Our preference for driving would be one day driving and then a day or 2 site seeing. We don't really like large cities. I am an amateur photographer (wild life not scenary).

Your help would be really appreciated.

Pete
    Abingdon (near Oxford)
    UK

Default The Long Way 'Round

You don't say how long you're going to be in North America for, but I can't imagine coming over for less than two weeks, so I'm going to assume that you have about nine days for the RoadTrip portion of your holiday, plus a few days each in Chicago and Philadelphia. That's just enough to complete your round-about routing over the tops of Lakes Michigan and Huron, through Niagara Falls and on to Philly at your preferred rate of one day driving out of every three.