Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Road Trip between Atlanta and NYC

Hello roadies .

I Plan to make a road trip between Atlanta and NYC on Oct-25th Sunday [ I have to get back to work in NYC Monday next day].I plan to start early morning in Atlanta ( Say 6 AM ).How much time would you think will take for a Single ( Alone) driver to make it to NYC ?

Note : I have experience of driving alone up to 600 miles ( took about 11 hours with stops ). Also , i have always been on the west coast . This is my first time on the east coast . I have a Toyota Rav4 ,2011.

Looking for Warnings , advise , Notes , points .

Appreciate your help !!

Thanks ,
    Anil

Default Two Days - Minimum

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

Sorry, but this is a drive that needs to be measured in days, not hours. If you can't leave until Sunday morning, you can't be at work on Monday morning. It's that simple. As you have noted, you can make a trip of 600 miles, but the next 300 would kill you, literally. There's a reason professional drivers (e.g. long-haul truckers) are prohibited by law from driving more than 600 miles a day. Because after that your alertness, judgement, and motor skills all start to deteriorate rapidly. You would have the equivalent skill set of a very drunk driver long before you got to New York City. And what's worse, you'd be exhausting your abilities just as you were getting to the most demanding portion of your trip, the Maryland, Delaware, and New Jersey Turnpikes. The advice you'll get here regarding your current plans is simple: Don't do it.

AZBuck
    Last edited by AZBuck; 10-09-2014 at 03:02 PM.

Default Agreed.

I'd have to agree with Buck, if you do not have at least another half day, find a cheap flight, and fly to NYC.

Lifey
    Last edited by Lifemagician; 10-09-2014 at 07:53 PM.