Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Default Los Angeles to Northern Virginia - early Dec

I will be moving cross country at the end of the year. Unfortunately, it looks like I won't be able to leave until around Dec. 1st-3rd.
    I'd like to leave earlier but my work schedule is not going to allow it. :(

It'll be me and a friend plus two big dogs (a pittie and a shepherd mix) in my '04 Prius. We'll be Motel 6-ing our way across the Southern route b/c of the dogs. I won't be towing anything, movers will be taking my stuff across.

I've never driven more than one day, and that usually wears me out. My friend is coming to help handle the dogs, but probably won't be doing any driving other then in an emergency situation.

I'm looking for any and all advice: about the route, prepping my car, traveling with dogs, how long the whole trip will take, etc. I'm a novice at planning this sort of thing. I've been a passenger on a road trip as a kid, and was a passenger for a UK road trip a few years ago. But I have a feeling it's a different ball game as the driver.

I'd travel I-15, I-40, I-81, and I-66. I plan to go to AAA to get some paper maps to back up my nav system and the GPS on my phone, in case they don't work for some unknown reason. I'll get an ice scraper for my windshield. Over the last 2 years I've replaced both my front and rear tires, so I think they're okay. I'm not a heavy mileage person, so they're pretty new.

I'm thinking I don't want to drive more than 6 hours a day, but don't really know how long that would take. Not being exhausted when I'm driving is more important than keeping to a specific schedule. Beating bad (worse) weather is also important. I'd like to at least do some drive-bys of interesting places along the way. My travel partner is a musician, so I'd like to stop a bit in Nashville for her sake.

Other than that, I'm in your hands. Help a girl out.
    Many thanks, in advance.

South of England.

Default A week [+]