Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Charlotte to Austin and back

Hi folks,

I'll be moving to Charlotte soon and want to see the Austin F1 grand prix on Nov 2nd. This is the general route i've come up with.
    In particular i want to see New Orleans and Birmingham's Barber Motorsports Park and also hoping to find a fun twisty road through the Smoky Mountains. I also put Mobile, AL in there because I was told that would probably be nicer than a more direct route to New Orleans. I'm not dead set on Dallas but it sounds like it would something nice to see. I'm planning to spend 6 days on the road total, so about 6+ hrs per day on the road. I wouldn't mind to change that to 8 hrs a day if that means going through more scenic roads and nice towns/places/landmarks. I wonder if there are any nice coastal roads i'm missing that could be relatively easily incorporated into this route, should I go through Mobile between Birmingham and New Orleans?
    I'm fairly new to the US and any other advice is welcomed.
    Thanks!

Alejandro

Default Timing Won't Work

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

In order to do all the driving you've mapped out, you would need to spend five 10-hour clays (with basic stop) on the road. If you are only going to drive six hours a day then you'd need six and a half days to complete the trip. And even that assumes that you spend a full six hours behind the wheel and budget extra time for necessities like food, fuel, bathroom breaks, traffic, construction, etc. For comparison, if you just did a direct drive from Charlotte to Austin and back, you'd need to budget a day and a half each way (at 6 hours a day driving), leaving you a couple of days in Austin for the Grand Prix, and a day, but only one day, to spend elsewhere as you choose. You still wouldn't have time for major detours such as New Orleans by way of Birmingham.

AZBuck

3. Default