Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Pulling a trailer on a new route

Hello RTA!
    My name is Mark and I'm new here. So after searching the web for a long time I finally found your site and am so pleased. The one thing I had been searching the web for was elevation gain and loss along a mapped route. I am new to pulling a trailer and would like to compare our route we will be doing soon to a route I previously did when I pulled the trailer for the first time. We will be leaving in a couple days and was hoping to find a website that could help me with this. It looks like the elevation button is not currently available on the map I made. Is there another way to get this info that someone here may know of maybe even on this site somewhere else? Or could you recommend a site? If it helps we will be leaving from Big Bear Lake, CA, driving to Provo, UT to stay at a KOA then on to the Grand Tetons then up to Yellowstone for a couple days. Then we had straight back home.

Thank you in advance.

2. Default Pulling a trailer on a new route

I am new here and just posted about the need for elevation gain and loss info. Do you know of another way of getting this for a mapped route? Maybe another website or????

Default What is the route?

Mark,

As I just wrote to you in an e-mail....

Unfortunately, the data points for such information are to put it mildly – grossly lame. After working on this component for about three months, we’ve pulled it for now from the RTA Custom Mapping application.

Your best source for useful information would be to post a query on the Great American RoadTrip Forum – (you are already a member) and let one of our road trip enthusiast group members tackle the challenge.
    What is the route you are considering?

There are a number of RV-related sites that might address this issue -- but most of us -- active on this forum -- have driven thousands of miles of roads in the USA and we might be able to assist you with general information.

Mark