Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default The beginning of a plan ............

Just introducing myself. From the UK, regular visitors to the States. Last year we went North of SF up the coast to Eureka and then cut over to Truckee (many people ask why) and down to Yosemite

I am just beginning to plan a trip with my wife for next year from New York or thereabouts to my favourite city so far in the US, San Francisco.

We're going to take as long as it takes on the trip, and the only thing that has been stopping me so far had been the difficulty I was experiencing finding a car hire company that would let me collect NY and drop off SFO without charging me more than the car rental for the privilege.

I think I found a site now that seems to charge €400, so I'm cool with that.

I think it will be a months journey, maybe more. I'm busy deciding on a route right now and I think it will loosely be NY, Washington, through West Virginia, up towards Chicago, over to South Dakota, down through Wyoming to Colorado, through Salt Lake to SF.

No doubt I'll be asking lots of questions along the way here :-)

Default Side Matters

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

It does make a difference where you procure your car hire. People seem to do much better, especially in getting add-on- fees such as underage driver or one-way drop-off fees reduced or eliminated, by setting up their car hires through a European consolidator rather than dealing directly with the U.S. firms. Some such consolidators that you may want to have a look at in this regard are Carhire3000 (now Rentalcars.com), Europcar, Autoeurope, and others.

AZBuck
    Last edited by AZBuck; 07-10-2014 at 09:08 AM.