1. Default Need advice for sleeping in my car - NY to Seattle

I am a male, driving cross country to Seattle. I have hotels in Chicago and Seattle but can't seem to find them near Badlands SD, Mount Rushmore SD, Yellowstone WY. Any advice on sleeping in the car in areas around there? Any places not recommended (bad areas)? I will have the windows blacked out with sheets, have bear spray, and a cellphone.

I heard truck stops can be sketchy with lot lizards and bad people. Just want to be safe as well experience some great places.

Any recommendations on drives and scenic will be good too. I am a amateur photographer going on a trip to restart my life after a bad accident.

Any advice will be appreciated

Thank you!

Green County, Wisconsin

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

When are you planning on doing this trip? Yellowstone is a very busy area with limited options for lodging, but the Black Hills isn't an area you should be having difficulty finding a motel, unless you are traveling during the Sturgis Rally. I'm also hoping those aren't the only places you are planning to spend the night, as NY to Chicago and Chicago to the Badlands are both trips that are too far to do in a single day - and would really put you in danger of having another accident.

As far as places to stay, Truck Stops really are among the best places to spend the night. They are well patroled and well lit, and far superior to places like rest areas which really are a dangerous place to spend the night.

Another option would be to stay in campgrounds, which would work especially well in places like Yellowstone - in fact, around Yellowstone, that may be close to your only real option, because you can't just park anywhere in a national park. A campground also gives you your own space at the end of the day to sit and move around at the end of the day.

Southern California