Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
  1. Default Advice sought for camping solo - cheap safe sites

In a few weeks I will be leaving for a cross country road trip - basically around the perimeter of the lower 48. I am a woman who will be traveling alone (with a dog) and to keep costs down I will be camping along the way. I'm new to camping and advice is appreciated. The length of my trip will come down to how cheaply I can camp. I know that dispersed camping is free but I'm not comfortable doing that alone. I think the safest way is to stay at campgrounds near other campers in case someone sees that I'm alone and bothers me.

So, my questions:
    -Does anyone know of resources where I can find cheap ($10 a night) sites?

-Are cabin tents ever prohibited in certain parks?

-In general, when dispersed camping, how far away do you have to go from your car?

Any advice, thoughts, suggestions are welcomed!
    Thank you in advance.

Welcome to RTA!

Generally, dispersed camping is only allowed in certain national forest and Bureau of Land Management properties, and most of those that allow it are in the western portion of the US. Each management organization has their own rules about where you can camp, how far you have to be from water, where the car needs to be in relationship to the campsite (usually not near any reasonable road). When we've done that (and it was a LONG time ago), we were backpackers who hiked into an area and set up a campsite.

The least expensive campgrounds usually run $10-20/night and are run by national forests. The least expensive ones have a pit toilet and maybe you will be lucky to have a faucet with running water. In the west, you can find these within 10-15 miles of a major roadway. There are also state park campgrounds that will run about $15-25 per night (and more expensive in California, particularly the ones in the beach areas). We used to find western campgrounds in guidebooks written by Tom Stienstra - California Camping, Oregon Camping.