1. Default Upstate NY To Charleston, SC

Hello All,

Newbie here to road tripping. My family is doing a trip to Charleston, SC from Albany, NY in June. We are leaving on a Friday evening around 4pm and plan on driving to roughly midnight. What I am struggling with is the route to take. Typically I would take 95 south in the off hours. However, since we are leaving late afternoon on a Friday, I am assuming 95 from NYC metro to DC could be ugly on a summer weekend. Can anyone suggest a good alternate route? Our goal is to make it somewhere in VA for a nights rest. One suggestion for me was to take 87 South to 287 in NJ to RT 78 west to I-81 south in PA. I was told that would bring me somewhere south of Baltimore. Please feel free to offer some suggestions...

2. Default

The direct route using mainly the dreaded I-95 is about 900 miles.

If it was me, and I didn't have enough time for the scenic roads such as the Blue Ridge Parkway, then... Albany > I-88 > Binghamton > I-81 > just before Wytheville > I-77 > Columbia > I-26 > Charleston. That's about 1000 miles but more scenic and less stressful.

On that route, Scranton is about 200 miles from Albany, then comes Harrisburg at about 320 miles. There are also the usual clusters of chain motels at intermediate exits for smaller towns.

That's just one idea and doubtless other posters will have other suggestions for you.

Green County, Wisconsin

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

Quote Originally Posted by sidewater View Post
    One suggestion for me was to take 87 South to 287 in NJ to RT 78 west to I-81 south in PA. I was told that would bring me somewhere south of Baltimore.
    I wouldn't recommend this option, because if you're going all the way down to I-287, you're already getting into the NYC Metro.