1. Default Massachusetts to California

Hey everyone,

I'm new to this and have never attempted a trip like this before. Me and a buddy of mine are planning on driving from Massachusetts to San Francisco this spring break. We will be leaving on a Thursday, and the latest we would possibly wanna get there is the Thursday a week later. I know this doesn't give us much time, but the trip isn't as much about site seeing as it is about getting there quickly and then being in Cali. I was just wondering if anyone could give us any tips or advice for beginners, and let us know what is the quickest we could safely and realistically get there. Also anything we may not think of bringing that will be important etc.. We will be flying back to massachusetts from Cali, so a we dont have to worry about the return trip.
    Thanks for any help!

Default The Basics of a Transcontinental Drive

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!

While everyone will approach RoadTrips a bit differently, there are a few basic rules that apply to all of them, especially those that have to cover a lot of miles in a limited timeframe. First of all, recognize (as you do) that your time is constrained and that you have to make the most of it. That does not mean driving like a bat out of hell for hours upon hours. It means maintaining a steady pace that you can keep up for days on end - in your case six days, the minimum time needed to drive safely from Massachusetts to San Francisco. Plan on covering right around 550 miles a day, not much more, not much less, and stick to the plan. Don't be tempted to drive too many miles on any day which will just leave you exhausted the next day, of dawdle sight-seeing which will leave you scrambling to catch up. Plan to make a few stops each day at local state parks, small towns, etc. to take a break from the road and keep your minds sharp. If you don't detour too far, such stops won't slow you down too much and will make the trip both safer and more pleasant.