1. Default Moving across the country

I am moving from Minnesota to Phoenix this month (Feb 2014) and taking my dog and cats with me in the car. Looking for advice from those who have moved cross country with pets. Also, if anyone has any recommendations for places to stay with the animals, or websites that you found most helpful. Thanks.

Default Been there, done that!

Welcome to the Great American RoadTrip Forum. I've had extensive experience with dogs and cats on the road. #1 issue -- make sure both pets are comfortable with being in a travel carrier -- that you can close and secure. Here are some more tips about traveling with critters:

10 time-tested Field experience tips

Seatbelts are essential for dogs

Tips for choosing pet-friend motels

General tips:

1) NEVER, EVER open a car door unless your cat is on a leash.

2) Give your animals water at the start of the rest break, not at the end. You don't want a freshly energized critter to drink some nice cool water and immediately get back in the car -- that's a recipe for upchuck down the center console (I know this from personal experience).

How large are your animals? Have they traveled in a car before? Do they like it?

Generally most motels allow pets -- My favorite two chains for being pet friendly La Quinta and Holiday Inn Express

Take a moment and scan those articles -- lots of time-tested learning therein.

Mark

Welcome to RTA!

In general, we found that traveling with dogs is easier than with cats. Most kitties don't like the car and spend their first half day yowling. Though in the past, we have had a kitty loose in the car, Mark's #1 rule up there is spot-on. Our cat that rode loose in the car never made a move to jump out of the car, but our other cats would have done so in a heartbeat. That cat also would spill the water dish on the floor of the car, and there she would sleep while we drove! All other cats rode in a crate. Period.