Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default August California Road Trip Los Angeles to Burning Man

Hello,

I am a 22 year old student from uk and me and one possibly two friends plan to do a California road trip for all August this summer. We were planning to start from Los Angeles go through the state and end at Burning man festival in Nevada. I have never done a road trip before some I have a few questions and I was hoping for some advice.

First off, we are 22 year olds and we want to make this trip as cheap as possible. We do not plan to stay any nights in hotels, mostly we would like to do camping and such, so we are not that needy and looking forward more to something of an adventure instead of a comfortable vacation.

The main problem is the car. Do we buy a cheap car or rent one for an entire month? The buying option would end with us hopefully selling it at the end of the month. Luckily I am a but flexible with dates so despite the road trip lasts all august I can arrive a little earlier and leave a little later in order to buy and then sell the car. Is this something doable? has anyone do something like this? We were initially thinking of maybe even a camper and so that would solve all our sleeping/showering problems, but I do not know if campers end up being very expensive in the long run, although my instinct tells me that a camper option is probably more expensive.

We were currently thinking of about a budget of 2000 uk pounds which is about 3300 dollars. Is this too little?

Also please be kind, for I might be completely naive with this road trip stuff.

Glad to join this forums and thanks for any advice and help.

Default Not really an option.

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !