Default Winter Road Trip to Houston, New Orleans, Mobile, Dallas, OKC, Memphis, Little Rock

Hello,

This is my first time posting, hope you can give me some advice for my coming road trip.

Here is the plan, my girlfriend and I are from Seattle and want to go to South to avoid the cold.

My plan is:

Fly from Seattle - Houston

Rent a car, Houston-New Orleans-Mobile-Houston (12/16~12/26)

Fly from Houston - Dallas (because I can only do round-way car rental... any other way to get to Dallas from Houston?)

Dallas- Little Rock- Memphis- OKC- Dallas (12/26~01/02)

Fly back to Seattle from Dallas

Do you have any suggestion for the attractions on the road and above destinations?
    and where to spend the new year eve is the best?

Thank you very much!!!

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

I'm sorry, I don't understand why you need to split this trip into 2 sections.

Yes, car rentals are cheaper if you do a round trip, but why not solve that by just doing one big round trip - flying into and out of the same city? Not only is that going to save you on car rental, and avoiding having to pay for transit between Houston and Dallas, but it will allow you to take a much more logical loop - rather doubling back to Texas twice.

In other words, you'd go from Houston to NOLA to Mobile, but then rather than head back to Houston, head north to Memphis, Little Rock, and OKC, before going back down to Dallas and finishing in Houston.

For that matter, you could start/end your trip at any city on the loop, based on where you find the cheapest flight and car rental.

If you want to keep your current "two city" plan, then I still wouldn't fly between Dallas and Houston. Megabus - or perhaps some other bus option - is going to be much cheaper and almost take you less time once you factor in airport security.

Default Here, There, and In Between