Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Crater lake, Yosemite, Zion, Bryce Canyon, Arches National Park, Grand Cayon

I will be traveling from Seattle, WA to Crater Lake national Park, OR, Yosemite National Park, then to Zion, Bryce Canyon before heading to Arches and Grand Caynon in late June (3 weeks) and concluding before 04Jul14. I will be traveling with a family of five (3 kids all under 13) and a travel trailer. I am looking for the best campgrounds (national parks/State Parks) in the area of these national land marks. Thanks for the advise!!

2. Default

My favorite campgrounds are the ones in the National Parks. It's been a LONG time since I camped at Crater Lake so I won't advise on that one.

In Yosemite I prefer Yosemite Valley campgrounds. Upper, Lower and North Pines campgrounds. You will need to make reservations well in advance for Yosemite Valley. There are no hook-ups in the valley but there is a water and dump station. I have no experience with private campgrounds outside the park.

In Zion we prefer Watchman campground because it does have electrical sites. You will need to make reservations well in advance. South campground has just as nice views but no electrical so you will have motor-homes running generators. It's a first come, first serve campground but you need to be there before Noon to get a campsite on most days. Zion Canyon campground is just outside the park in Springdale and they have full hook ups. It's not cheap. We stayed there last month during the National Park shutdown. They have great views and a pool.

It's been a while since we camped in Bryce Canyon. Both campgrounds are in wooded pines. North Campground takes reservations and Sunset is first, come, first serve. We use to camp there all the time but as we've gotten older we've found we like the full hook ups once in a while so we've been staying at Ruby's Inn Campground. :)