1. Default Richmond, VA to Los Angeles, CA through Houston

Moving in August from Richmond, VA to Los Angeles, CA traveling through Houston.
    Plan to stop in Houston for a couple of days of rest and visit family.
    Would love to arrive in LA by the 7th day of the trek if possible
    Will be driving a 24 foot moving truck (diesel) and spouse will be in minivan (gas) with several children ranging in age from toddler to teenager.

I have never done this before. I look forward to your expertise. Thank you.

South of England.

Default The difference a day makes.

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !

I'd say it's borderline doable, but it won't be a lot of fun and exhausting, leading to a lot of disgruntled children making the move more stressful. It's going to be slower going with a loaded truck of belongings and a loaded car of several children and even slower with the two combined. A couple of days of rest would be welcomed so I would add more time.

Also you have to consider the logistics with a stop in Houston, you can't get there safely in 2 days but you could in 3 slightly more comfortable days. To get from Houston to LA would be 3 long days with your set up and you would arrive pretty tired and in no mood to unload the truck etc. What I would likely do is 3 days to Houston, a day and a half with family [even if you drive for 3 hours or so from 3pm] and 3.5 days to LA minimum and add at least another day.

It's important to make regular stops and let the Kids run off some energy, this thread lists places near Interstate where they can do just that.

Tucson, AZ

Default Do You Have to Stay Together?