1. Default California road trip

Hi, I'm brand new to RTA so please bear with me!
    Planning a 2 week road trip in California and I want to cover a lot of bases. Is this itinerary crazy?

San Diego
    Palm Desert
    Hollywood, LA
    Highway 1 (Monterey, Big Sur)
    Sequoia
    Yosemite
    San Francisco

Any advice about things to add or subtract from the list? I have to see people in San Diego, Palm Desert and Hollywood. The rest of the list is flexible.

Thanks,
    Skippy

Welcome to RTA!

The places sound reasonable in a 2-week time frame. If it were possible to go south on the CA-1 (Pacific Coast Highway), it's easier to get in/out of the scenic pullouts as they're on the west side of the highway. So if you have to go north, just be careful!

Many people enjoy seeing San Simeon - the Hearst Castle. It's not everybody's cup of tea, however.

Sequoia and Yosemite are both gorgeous. You didn't say when this trip is (except for your post location in "Fall and Winter Road Trips"). If in the middle of winter, getting around Sequoia could be interesting, and using Tioga Road across Yosemite may be impossible -- it's never plowed.

Out by Palm Desert is Joshua Tree National Park. Just driving through this one, stopping occasionally, may be interesting to you.

Donna
    Last edited by DonnaR57; 07-06-2013 at 07:27 AM.

Default Thought about a loop?

In which month are you planning to make this trip? Is the idea to start in SD and finish in SF, or are they just the places you want/need to visit? You could do this trip as a loop. If you need to rent a car, that could save you some as well.

It would look something like LA > SD > Palm Desert > Sequoia > Yosemite > San Francisco and make the coast road from North to South back to LA.

Lifey

Default Loopy loop.