1. Default Help w/ Southern States Family RV trip: Durham, NC -> Dallas -> NM -> Prescott, AZ!!!

I am new to this forum and very glad that I found it. I have already seen tons of cool ideas on here, and the community seems very friendly and helpful.

I am looking for some help as we plan an RV road trip. We are moving from Durham, NC to Prescott, AZ in the middle of July and I'd like to take the family on the road and take the opportunity to see the sights. We will rent an RV and we have 7 or 8 days to do the trip (I could probably get a couple more if we need it).

My family is me and the wife with 3 kids: ages 7, 5, and 3. My wife and I have no experience with road trips and would like your help with any recommendations.

We would like to travel through the mountains of Tennessee. Stop in Dallas for one day to see family. Stop at Carlsbad cave in NM. And finish in Phoenix, AZ. What is the coolest drive through Tennesse? Is there anything to do on day 2 in Arkansas or North Mississippi. How about West TX as we leave Dallas? Also we would like to stop at an amusement park if there is one along the way for the kids.

How many days do you think we'll need, since we don't want to do too many miles/day, and we'd like to spend a full day in Dallas and at an amusement park? Let me know also if you guys have any recommendations for other stops along the way. Anyway, any recommendations you guys have for us would be awesome. We'd really like to make this a fun and memorable experience for the kids.

Default Those Tennessee mountains

Hello (soon to be former) neighbor,

I suspect what you're thinking of for the mountains of Tennessee are the Smokies. The Great Smoky Mountains NP is along the NC-TN border, west and southwest of Asheville, and excepting the Cumberland Plateau between Knoxville, Chattanooga, and Nashville, represents the only mountains within the Volunteer State.

If you're looking for mountains on the way out of NC, may I suggest the following: