1. Default Newbie here seeking advice--month long road trip out west

Just found this forum and I'm excited to get some feedback on our plans. We're hoping to take a road trip this spring (2 adults, 2 kids) using Denver as our hub to travel in and out of. We'll be coming from the Northeast on either train or plane to Denver and renting a car for a month. Here's a rough itinerary I came up with. Any thoughts/comments/advice of any kind is appreciated!

Day 1 Arrive; explore Denver and areas south; hotel
    Day 2 Drive to Santa Fe, stay with friends
    Day 5 Head to Sedona; hotel
    Day 6 Explore Sedona; drive to Grand Canyon; hotel
    Day 7 Explore Grand Canyon (may add a day here); hotel
    Day 8 Head to Zion; hotel
    Day 9 Explore Zion; drive to Bryce; hotel
    Day 10 Explore Bryce; drive to Capitol Reef/Grand Staircase; hotel
    Day 11 Explore Capitol Reef; drive to Moab; hotel
    Day 12 Explore Moab; hotel
    Day 14 Drive to Mesa Verde, CO; hotel
    Day 16 Drive to Salt Lake City; hotel
    Day 17 Drive to Yellowstone; hotel
    Day 20 Drive to Cody, WY; hotel
    Day 22 Drive to Black Hills/Custer State Park; hotel
    Day 25 Drive to Badlands; hotel
    Day 29 Depart Denver

I have some extra days at the end so we can be a bit flexible as we're traveling. I think we'll definitely add a day at Grand Canyon; not sure where else yet.

Also, some additional questions:

--Any advice on figuring out a budget for this? I'm trying to make sure I don't forget anything. Transportation looks about $2500 between rental car, gas & plane or train fare; I'm thinking $100 a night average for hotels; food has me stumped. Would like to buy a cooler to use to cover breakfast and lunch, and/or eat at hotels with breakfasts. Dinner will be out, or cook in if we have a kitchenette type set up in our hotel.