Default Planning enormous road trip...packing advice?

Howdy folks!

So, my honey and I are planning a rather ambitious road trip in June, and since this is something I've never done before (and certainly not on this scale), I figured I'd hunt around for packing tips, and that hunting led me to this forum. Here's what we're doing:

My honey's son is graduating from the University of Oregon in Eugene in June, and that is the original reason for the trip out west (we live in the Catskill Mountains of New York). Originally, we thought we'd fly out or take the train out west and then rent a car and travel back east, and I would book myself a few house concerts and other kinds of concerts along the way, which sounded like it'd be a lot of fun. But, one-way car rentals are really expensive, and my honey figured that for a coupla thousand more, we could get a decent enough classic car (which is his thing). We found the right one in the Appleton, WI area, so we adjust our plans to take a train out to Milwaukee, rent a car, pick up the new old car (a '67 Volvo 122 with a newly rebuilt engine), stay with friends of ours (who, coincidentally, live about 15 miles away from where we're getting the car), perform in a concert, and then get on the road to Eugene.

After spending about 4 days in Eugene, we figured we'd travel down the coast, picking up the 101 into Eureka. Then, we plotted a trip to the Grand Canyon from there, then up to Aspen (for a concert), down to Albuquerque (for a concert), over to Fayetteville (for a concert or two), to Nashville (concert or two), Jonesborough, TN (for a concert), then to Asheville (concert) and then home.

We figure that all of this traveling around will have us in the car from the 11th of June right to the end of the month.

So, experienced road-trippers, what should we be thinking about when planning this trip? What should we think about packing? Any words of caution or advice you might have for us?