1. Default 1st solo drive: Northern California to North Carolina.

I found this website yesterday while doing my research. I am still learning how to use all the tools and resources available on this wonderful site. I am a young woman planning to drive from Northern CA to Pittsboro, NC for a job and live with my sister. A chance for new opportunities. I will be traveling with my dog. I am looking for the safest route, and not really looking to stop for elongated sight seeing. However, I would really like to drive through some scenic area's. Places I would like to see are: More of Arizona, crossing I would be leaving in a couple weeks, so early April. I thought about the Northern route taking I-80, but I would rather avoid any snowy/icy conditions, so I am looking at more southern routes. I will be driving a 1997 Honda Accord. I have never been on a road trip past Colorado, and the long roads trips I have been on were never even mapped out, but played by ear. Each road trip I was the navigator and booked rooms along the way. I have to say all road trips went pretty smooth for being new to road trips and thrown into the navigating/drivers seat. Since I will be alone on this trip, I want to have a route mapped out ahead of time and destinations with hotels (dog friendly) already in place. I have never traveled like this alone, so I would like to keep it safe.

Being from the West Coast, I really don't know whats out there past Utah/Colorado. My main goals are: I would like to enjoy Arizona as much as possible, cross the Mississippi in an ideal area, and see the mountains in Tennessee.

This is only day two of my research, but here is a map I have been playing with, wondering if anyone would like to give me some feedback, tips, or recommendations. It would be very greatly appreciated!

Tucson, AZ

Default Just Some Thoughts Then

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!