Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default Laptop / Tablet / Apps

Hi, Im new to the tablet world of computers.

I have just purchases a Dell Laptop / Tablet combination for our upcoming trip and hopefully see it in a week or so.
    Mainly for my photography and the size of the computer weight wise.
    With best of both worlds I can use it as a laptop or fold the keyboard away and use it as a tablet.I have a small external hard drive I take with me for backing up my photos.

Does anyone know about the "apps" tha can be downloaded and used while travelling. I have found one on the Blue Ridge Parkway and one on New Oleans so far.
    Im a bit behindthe times with computers,Apps, Smartphones etc. I was thinking of maybe picking up some mapping software / CD to use while travelling.

Any help would be muchly appreciated.

John

Default MS Streets & Trips

Hi John, technology is not exactly my forte, and since I still use a dumb phone, cannot help you with any of that part.

But if you are looking for a mapping program, you might like to look at Microsoft Streets and Trips. I was fortunate to have glc help me get that on my computer, but I have to confess, I do not use if often enough. However, he swears by it, and uses it all the time. Once you get used to it, it is easy and very useful.

Lifey

Can I assume the Dell has Windows 8?

Streets & Trips 2013 with a USB GPS module is about $50 USD. I don't know if it's compatible with the touchscreen mode of Windows 8, but I understand it works fine with standard keyboard and mouse. It will not be as up-to-date as Google Maps but it will work standalone without an active Internet connection. It requires a DVD drive for installation, but once installed, you won't need the DVD. It's less expensive without the GPS module. The 2014 version may or may not be out when you get here.