1. Default new here...need help planning a trip

hi everyone,

i'm new to this glad it's here!!! i'm planning a trip for my husband, 7 year old daughter, and myself. we may or may not take our two pugs with us as well, depending on responses here.

we live in the bay area. my plan is to leave here, go to the grand canyon, then to bryce canyon, over to yosemite, and back to the bay area. i haven't planned how many days we'll be gone and am not familiar with the weather during may or june in these areas. i'm assuming it will be hot. i'd like to go in the beginning of may. we aren't really road trip travelers but i think it will be great. i always wished i had this experience with my parents. however, i don't want my daughter to be sick of the car and bored out of her mind.

ideally, i'd like to go for 11 days. i was thinking of splitting the drive from home to the GC in half since it's over 700 miles. is there anything in-between them that is fun? i thought about 2 days in the GC. is that enough? then drive up to bryce and spend two days there. then split the drive from bryce to yosemite in half. anything between those two? hang out in yosemite for a couple days and then come home.

is this too ambitious for a 7 year old? i did something like this before...but not with a child. how much time do most people allow for the GC? should we go to bryce or just GC and yosemite?

thanks for any advice!!!!

Southern California

Welcome to RTA! This sounds like the start of a good plan for your vacation. Look around here in the forums, and you'll see that this loop is very popular.