1. Default Roadtrip advice - Aspen to Las Vegas, taking in the Grand Canyon?

Hi All

I'm a South African traveling to the USA with my family (wife, a 10 and a 12 year old), we'll be skiing at Snowmass and then driving down to Las Vegas on the 4th of January for which I have rented a SUV taking the potential road conditions into account. We have allowed two days for the trip.

The best route seems to be I70 onto the I15 and I was wondering if anybody had any advice or insight to offer on:

a) recommended overnight stops along this route, or should I just push through (conditions allowing) to Las Vegas (we're planning to leave Aspen early on the Friday morning)

b) possible alternative routes that may be more scenic and interesting. I would however prefer to avoid any particularly challenging or treacherous roads, as although I have some experience driving in icy conditions as you can imagine we don't get to drive in snow in SA.

c) we would like to visit the Skywalk at the Grand Canyon and I was wondering whether it was an option to route this way before getting to Vegas (at the moment the plan is to drive from Vegas there on a day trip). This option does not look as straight forward as coming down the I70/I15 but I would appreciate any advice or insight in this regard.

Any other advice or insight is most welcomed, especially wrt to what I need to be aware of or look out for!

Kind Regards

South of England.

Default GC National park

Hello and welcome to the RTA forums !