Default Winter Break family road trip

I am a newbie (wish I found this site sooner) to this site and am looking for some sound advice. My family consisting of mom,dad and 3 boys aged 11,twin almost 8 year olds are looking to travel from Maryland to points south or SW south but want to avoid route 95 at all cost. This would be for the Winter break (12/22-1/1). Our youngest twin has Autism so we generally travel by car. We are looking for a trip that would generally engage the kids but be relaxing as well. Our road trips have been pretty intense lately (trying to push everything in such a short period of time) so I think this one needs to be staying put in a few spots rather than travel to a different city everyday or every other day. I am not sure how warm the beach sites are in December but would consider beach locations too.
    We travel by minivan and stay in hotels consisting of kitchenettes in case we are not able to eat out at a restaurant due to our little guy and the hotel must have a pool.
    I hope I have provided enough information for anyone willing to help this mommy of 3 three with some ideas for wonderful memories to come.
    Thanks in advance for assistance.

Tucson, AZ

Default First: Some Broad Brush Strokes

Welcome aboard the RoadTrip America Forums!