Default First Road Trip with my girls

I'm wondering if I could get some advice on a road trip I'm planning for next summer with my children, they will be 11 and 13 by then. I work in a school so will have 6 weeks off from mid July next year. There are so many places we want to see and I know we won't be able to do it all next year, so I'm hoping this will be the first of many!

Due to getting back on my feet my budget after flights from UK will be approx $3000/3500, which would have to cover either greyhound or car hire. I was originally thinking of going from New York down to Key West (Staying there for a couple of weeks) on a round trip due to flights (it would bump the cost up too much to fly back from Key west). When I was 21 (a long time ago!! haha) I was in Virginia for 6 months and did go to Memphis, New Orleans and Miami on the greyhound, from what I can remember it was fine, just not sure 2 young girls would be happy with that, but then would petrol cost too much?

I would also love to do route 66 but not sure if we could do that on this budget, but as I say am happy to plan for that another time.

I'm open for any suggestions for my budget.

Joplin MO

Compared to the UK, petrol here is dirt cheap. If you rent a standard 4 cylinder car, you can probably figure it at no more than 15 cents per mile. A car will give you much more flexibility than a bus.

It's approximately 1500 miles from NYC to Key West, so your petrol costs would probably be around $200 or so.

Tucson, AZ

Default Some Other Numbers