Default Road Trip San Francisco to Las Vegas

Hi Fellow American Roadtrippers!

I am new to this so hopefully I am doing this right... I am from England and have never been to America, my Mother is planning a trip to Las Vegas June 2013 for her 50th Birthday with all the family and some friends.
    As I have never been to America before I would like to see as much as we can so my 2 friends and myself came up with the idea of flying to San Francisco then hiring a car (preferably a Mustang ;-)) then driving down the coast to LA then San Diego then on the Las Vegas to meet the rest of the Family.
    We wanted to spend about 7days driving then 7 days in Las Vegas.
    Has anyone done this????
    I really need as much info as possible as like I said before I have never been America before and although I have done some internet research I would like to hear from people who have actually done this!
    So... Who are the best(cheapest) car hire company?
    me and my friends are 28 years old, is it safe for 3 (youngish) girls to do this sort of road trip?
    do we book motels on the way or book them before we get there?? rough cost of motels???
    where are the best places to visit between San Francisco and Vegas???
    Is the time scale between San Francisco to Vegas realistic??

sorry for the long message... thanks for taking the time to read this, I will be greatful for any info

Hayley :-)

Southern California

Welcome to RTA! There are quite a few of us who are experienced road trippers. Everyone's trips are going to be different -- yours should reflect you and your interests (and that of your 2 companions). That said:

The cheapest car rental will be different for everyone. You might try for a reasonable rate that perhaps will cut out the cost of a one-way rental.