1. Default I can drive your car from NY to LA or San Francisco

Hi everyone, I am a tourist from Germany, am looking to drive someone's car from New York to California. I will start in NY on 08.07.2012 and I am going to reach California on 29.07 or 30.07. The benefit to you is that you'll get your car transported across the country without having to pay massive shipping charges. I am an extremely respectful driver who has been driving for 10 years. SUVs and tracks (passenger, no cargo)))) are welcome! Many thanks!

Green County, Wisconsin

Default Strongly Not Recommended

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

While your idea sounds simple on paper, I can tell you that I would not recommend your plan of borrowing someones car for a cross country trip.

The risks are too great, especially for the car's owner, but also for you.

As the owner of a car, it would be a huge financial risk. If you were to get into an accident, the car's owner could and likely would be held financially responsible. There are also big questions about insurance, and their insurance company may not cover you or the car if they consider it to be a commercial transaction. There's also the simple reality that if you don't show up at your destination, they basically have no recourse, and again, even insurance might not cover a "stolen" car since they handed you the keys.

For you as the driver, you'd also have to worry about what would happen if you have a breakdown. Will you be responsible for fixing it? There are other things of that nature that make this a much more complicated issue than just driving a car for someone else.

There is a solution, however, and its called a Driveaway. People who need cars moved contract with a company who finds someone to do the driving. Its the same concept, but with a commercial company in the middle to handle the many legal issues and potential problems. That's the only way I would ever recommend doing a trip/transport like this.

Melbourne, Australia