1. Default First time roadtripper, need tips and advice on what to see going from Oregon to Ohio

Hey ya'll :) I hope I'm not cluttering up this forum here with yet another advice thread.

So I've never done a road trip before of my own design. Last winter, through my college we took an 11 day excursion to Nevada and Arizona, from Ohio. It was a straight 36 or so hour drive, rotating several drivers. The drive was long, but by god, it made me addicted to the west and made me want to do my own road trip. I'm getting excited just thinking about it!

So this august, there's a group of people me and my partner know who are in the Oregon area doing a 5 day long campout extravaganza event in the Deschutes National Forest, in central Oregon. I thought it would be awesome to attend, and my partner thinks it will be fun too :)

So, going to the campsite from Dayton, Ohio is estimated a 36-37 or so hour drive on Google, not including stops. I figured with stops we could easily "straight shot" the distance within 3 days, starting the early on the 30th and hopefully arriving mid-day at the latest on the 2nd, when the event starts. That gives us 3 nights on the road, which I figure should be plenty of time since we'll obviously be rotating driver position as well.

The camping event goes until the 6th (where the 6th would be considered a "break down the tents and say goodbye kind of day), and I imagine we'll start driving again starting that night.

Time for the road trip part!!

Here's the thing. We have until the 13th to get back to Dayton, from Deschutes National Forest in Oregon. If we include the 6th as a driving day (a light one, at least) then we have about 7.5 days worth of travel to... explore around a bit :P