Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Phoenix to Chicago Speed Run in 2 days... Possible?

I have no experience with a distance quite this long.... 1750ish miles. A few years ago I had been known to go from Phx to San Diego (360ish miles) in far less than 5 hours with no stops so I potentially think I could handle it. I have an iron bladder and will only stop when needed for gas. I plan to cruise at 9 over the speed limit the whole way. I will pack all my snacks and food so no need to stop and eat. I am also not above using a funnel and water bottle trick if the energy drinks reek havoc on my bladder in order to save time. ;-)

Am I crazy to think I could get to Oklahoma City in the first day? 915ish miles? That's only two (15min) stops for gas making 4 chunks of 3ish hours a piece. I'm thinking 13-14 hours total. Totally doable. 7am-9pm. Pass out for 10 hours and start again with the second half leaving only 800 miles in 11-12 hours. I'm not opposed to doing it on a weekend to avoid hitting any sort of rush-hour traffic. Or, if there's too many road closures over the weekends, I'm not against doing it on weekdays either.

Any tips for my crazy endeavor from the experts? Oh and I'll be doing it solo, so any tips for boredom-busters would be appreciated as well.

Thanks in advance,
    Katy

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

I'm sorry, but no, there is no way you can possibly do this trip safely in two days. Even doing it in 3 days would be pushing the limits of safety.

The travel times you are hoping for are simply not possible in the real world, and there is no way to drive the kinds of distance you are talking about without being a danger to yourself and everyone else on the road. For comparison sake, professional drivers are limited by law to driving about 600 miles in a day.

You simply will not find anyone here who will offer you any tips and suggestions for this trip other than to tell you to reconsider your plans.