1. Default Chicago, IL to Dover, DE in July

Hi Everyone,

Great website! My girlfriend and I are planning on heading to Dover, DE (~800 mi.) for a music fest on the 3rd weekend in July.

Quick background on myself- I drive a LOT (both city driving and highway, however, I'm a complete amateur in terms of long-distance trips aside from a drive down to New Orleans in Aug. of '05. That trip was relatively easy, as we split it up among 4 college-aged guys and made it down about as non-stop as you can get. Other than that, we make regular trips to Lake Delton in WI, so I know that I can drive for 4+ hours with ease.

The festival in DE is July 20-22. We are going to give ourselves Wednesday thru Monday (July 18-23). We (potentially) don't care for many of the bands that are playing on Sunday, so we are likely free to leave at whatever time necessary on Sunday to be back home and settled in on Monday.

Of course, I'd like to think that we can do this non-stop, but I understand that it eventually gets un-safe, and we are better off spending the night somewhere in the middle along the way. In my mind, I think the trip will go something like -

Leave at some point on Wed the 18th, take 80 E through Indiana and Ohio, onto 76 E into Pennsylvania, spend the night in Pittsburgh. I think that's about 460mi and about 8 hours of driving. Wake up as early as possible on the 19th, 70 E through the rest of Pennsylvania down into MD and through Baltimore and take whatever the recommended route is into Delaware.

I am giving myself ample time to work on the route and the timing, but I appreciate any/all help and input from the experts. I guess my main questions are:

1) Is that a decent rough-draft of a game plan?
    2) Is this a possible non-stop trip for two people? I think it would be about 400 miles and 7 hours each.

Welcome to the RTA Forum (despite your poor choice of a username)!

I think your rough draft with a stop in Pittsburgh is a reasonable plan.