1. Default New York City to Stillwater Oklahoma

I am planning to spend 3 nights in Washington DC, then 3 nights in NYC , then to go from NYC to Hershey Pennsylvanya, Pittisburgh, Columbus, Cincinnati, Indianapolis, saint Louis, Memphis, Little Rock, Tulsa, and finally Stillwater, OK, where my children are studying at OSU.
    Group: my family (6 people).The youngest is 11 year old,
    Time available: 7-12 days (One way trip),
    Car would be rented (most probably mini van),

I am new to this very informative and friendly forum. Your advices are highly valued.

1. does this route look good or can be modified? The purpose is mainly for general sightseeing and outdoors (I am open to any suggestions.)
    2. Any suggestions on specific attractions to see during this trip?
    3. Until now I am not sure in which city or town to stay each night during the trip. Any recommendations?
    4. Do you think I need to keep the rented car during my stay in NYC?

Southern California

Welcome aboard RTA!

First, I'm curious: what is in Cincinnati that you wish to do? The reason I ask, it's less mileage to go from Columbus OH to Indianapolis, merely by staying on I-70.

Second -- a car is a PROBLEM in NYC. Most hotels either don't have the proper parking and make you find some place else, or they do have some and charge through the nose for it. Parking in NYC is expensive: $50 a day is about the cheapest we saw, and that lot was full. The reason is real estate. In Washington DC, it's a problem too. You are better off using the Metro in DC, taking a train or bus to NYC where you use public transportation, and rent your minivan or whatever when you leave NYC.

Although you don't ask, a car in D. C. is just about as worthless as it is in NYC. D. C is a difficult town to get around because there is really no street grid and the streets seem to run every which way. Parking is a problem also. It can get very expensive. The public transportation system is very good.

Have A Great Trip!!