Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
  1. Default Summer roadtrip from California to San Francisco looking for some planning answers.

Hello to any of this fantastic site, who might have some helpful comments, inputs and must see sights along the route of me and my girlfriend's road trip this summer.

First some info about who we are, and the layout of the rough lines in our trip.

We are a couple from Denmark in the start 30's who have decided to come visit your magnificent country and what better way to do that but in a car.
    we have never tried a road trip in the states before, so navigating the roads will be new to us.
    my girlfriend have have visited both New York and San Francisco before, but i am at total newbie.

The itinerary in the broader lines, as it is looking right now:
    - Arrival Los Angeles in july.
    - Los Angeles to Grand Canyon.
    - Grand Canyon to Las Vegas via. Hoover Dam.
    - Las Vegas to the West Coast via. Death Valley, Wofford and then due West
    - Las Vegas to the West Coast via. Death Valley, 395 South, 58 West and 166 West.
    - West Coast up north to San Francisco.

Approx. miles by Google earth is roughly set in the area of 2000 miles, and the actual days available on the road is 16.

A quick search on this site recommend an average speed of 50 - 70 mph. A quick calculation by saying a roughly 4 hours of drive per day at 55 mph. will end up at about nine days to complete the tour.
    Is this realistic or should we cut of some of the miles to get the full experience and have time to take in the scenery and maybe stay a day or two at some places without the plan falling apart?

Any other advice or helpful thoughts are of course also more than welcome.

Thanks in advance from both of us who impatiently is waiting for July :)

Green County, Wisconsin

Welcome to the RTA Forum!