Thread: GPS Suggestions

1. Default GPS Suggestions

Hi I'm new to Roadtrip America and I must say I'm happy I found this site. I've always loved taking roadtrips no matter how long they may be. Right now though I'm planning a roadtrip for the beginning of August and am in need of a little help. I'm looking to buy a new GPS unit for my car and I don't really know what the latest and greatest GPS's are on the market. I've had my Garmin Nuvi for about 6 years now and it just recently died. My price range is between $100 up to $200, with that I'm sure I can get a pretty nice and really good GPS for that. I've looked on Amazon, NewEgg, BestBuy, and etc reading reviews about GPS's, but just can't seem to decide on one. Any help you all can give me would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Welcome to the RTA Forum!

I really think it comes down to the features you want most.

I would stick to a Garmin or a Tom Tom. I've got a nuvi as well and if you liked it, that's probably a good place to look again. I personally like the operation of the Garmin better than the Tom Tom or what I've seen from Magellan, but they will also work just fine.

Otherwise, personally, I'd look for one with lifetime map updates, since they often cost as much as the unit itself. Also make sure it includes the maps you need (some only include US, some include all of North America). There are other features and sizes, but really, those are all things you'll have to decide what you think would work best for you.

Welcome!